JONES, William E.
I Didn’t See It Coming

The dark and exciting culmination of William E. Jones’ trilogy of novels set in Los Angeles. The new book begins several years after the end of the second novel: I Should Have Known Better’s former art school students and their companions face decisions about whether they should continue their frivolous adventures or begin to lead more conventional lives. As these bright young things approach middle age – and gentrification swallows up affordable neighborhoods – they find themselves dealing with real life in all its unpleasantness against a background of news about the war in Iraq. Due to stubbornness or inertia, the narrator sticks to his bohemian ways, finding work in the porn industry, while his friends settle down, flourish as artists, leave town, or destroy themselves.

I Didn’t See It Coming is a page turner bristling with energy and brimming with the kind of explicit sex scenes that readers have come to expect from the author of I’m Open to Anything … [publishers’ note]

Published by We Heard You Like Books, 2023

Price: 18€

JONES, William E. - I Didn’t See It Coming