GRAY, Alasdair
Lanark. A Life in Four Books

40th anniversary edition
‘Probably the greatest novel of the century’ Observer

Lanark, a modern vision of hell set in the disintegrating cities of Unthank and Glasgow, tells the interwoven stories of Lanark and Duncan Thaw. A work of extraordinary imagination, its playful narrative conveys a profound message, both personal and political, about humankind’s inability to love, and yet our compulsion to go on trying.

First published in 1981, Lanark established Alasdair Gray as one of Britain’s leading writers and kick-started the modern renaissance of Scottish literature.[publisher's note]

Published by Canongate, 2021

Price: 25€

GRAY, Alasdair - Lanark. A Life in Four Books